Day 49 – how am I gonna be an optimist about this?

Day 49 – Your Favourite A Cappella Song

This is where I’m supposed to post the Cup Song, right?

I won’t lie. I don’t know very many a cappella songs. I know a lot of music but most of it has instruments. So for the first time ever, I decided to Google the challenge instead of putting work into it. So I’m going to post like 82 songs probably because I found a LOT of great stuff.

1. Noteworthy is a collegiate a cappella group from Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. Not much can be said for them objectively because they are a college group, which means that their members are always changing. From what I’ve seen of them on their youtube channel, however, they’re pretty great.

2. A lot of people know who Mike Tompkins is. He’s become pretty famous on youtube for his a cappella renditions of popular songs. He records himself singing every part and compiles it all into one track/video, so you can watch him sing every part. Cool right? Right. So this is him. Note his exquisite facial expressions.

3. I’ve never heard of Peter Hollens before but I’m glad I found him. Kina Grannis, on the other hand, has been one of my favorite singers since I found her in like 2008. She doesn’t usually do a cappella though. In this instance, she was guesting for Peter. I love Bastille in the first place because they are so creative with their harmonies and vocalizations, so hearing a purely vocal interpretation seems very natural. And this video is just so creative.

4. Last one. While I was putting together this list I realized that I there is in fact at least one a cappella song in my collection that slipped my mind. I believe I’ve posted a couple of Sherwood songs before. They’re not an a cappella group, but they have an impressive command of harmonies that lends itself nicely to instrument-less music so this song doesn’t seem out of character for them. It’s not totally a cappella – there’s an organ in the second half of the song, but yolo.

One response to “Day 49 – how am I gonna be an optimist about this?

  1. Pingback: #forrealfriday | nihilism is not practical.

Leave a Reply

