still not using shampoo

May 26 marked one month since the last time I used shampoo. Tomorrow will mark one month since the first time I put baking soda in my hair, and you can read all about that transformative first step here. And I know, I said I wouldn’t post another update until the end of June, but I’m updating now. Ha.

That first post ended with me complaining about how dry my hair was after those first two baking soda rinses so the next day I started looking for how to fix that dryness. I found a lot more blogger moms talking about adjusting your ratio of baking soda to water but that didn’t satisfy me. But then I found this post at the Road to 31 which basically highlights the dryness problem I’d been having and some different solutions for it. Contained within is a list of different household ingredients and their benefits for the hair and scalp. It’s so great! I’m geeking out about a mom blog! What even am I!

So anyway. Because of this post, I actually haven’t used baking soda since those initial two days [except for two separate weekends when I was away from home and decided that BS would be easier to pack up than the recipe I was using at the time]. For the month of May, ending yesterday, I used an egg mixture instead! My recipe was similar to the one listed at the end of the above link with the exclusion of some of the conditioning ingredients.

Shampoo:
2 egg whites
2 tbsp cornstarch
1 tsp cocoa
dilute with cold water

Conditioner:
2 egg yolks
a few drops of vanilla extract
1 tbsp honey
dilute with milk or cold water

Or, when I was feeling lazy [which is usually]:
2 eggs
2 tbsp cornstarch
1 tsp cocoa
a few drops of vanilla extract
dilute with milk or cold water

So I used this for a 26 day period. I didn’t wash my hair every day, probably more like every 3 days. My hair didn’t look greasy and it was super soft. My friends didn’t believe me when I told them I washed my hair with eggs. HOWEVER. There were issues. My hair didn’t look greasy, but it felt sort of waxy especially near the roots. I noticed that my roots at the back of my head started to look greasy after a couple of weeks, despite washing them consistently. Interestingly enough, the roots at the top of my head never looked greasy, which is especially exciting when you take into consideration that my idea of a hairstyle is pushing my hair straight back from my face. In retrospect, however, I attribute this to the bottom half of my scalp producing much finer hair than the top half, which means that they would look greasier faster. But even on wash days they never quite looked clean. I half attribute this to still being in that ‘transition period’, but it also makes me question the effectiveness of egg.

There was also the issue of time. It’s not a complicated recipe but it’s still time-consuming, especially as each mixture had to be made just before I stepped into the shower. I only washed my hair 2-3 times a week so it wasn’t like I was taking hours out of my life, but still. Time is time. If I wanted to shower at 7 am, I’d actually have to get up at 6:40 to go up to the kitchen and make my mixtures. 20 minutes is a big deal when you could be sleeping.

But the biggest issue was the temperature. If you bothered to read the linked post, you’ll have noticed that the author advises you wash in lukewarm water so as not to cook the egg in your hair. That information is a BIG STEAMING SACK OF CRAP. The only way to avoid getting egg cooked into your hair is by washing your hair with ICE COLD WATER, and even then – because the scalp is naturally much warmer than the rest of the body – the egg will still cook into your hair. I know that there are benefits to cold water rinses – they close pores, seal follicles, and reduce sweat produced by steam. However, cold water showers are NEVER EVER COMFORTABLE. THEY’RE AWFUL. And they didn’t work anyway! I didn’t have a single wash day where I didn’t have to spend at least ten minutes in front of a mirror picking little bits of egg out of hair. It was not fun. But I didn’t complain too much because it made my hair look okay.

I’m not saying that egg isn’t effective, all I’m saying is that I personally had more complaints than praise for it. I think it would be better in shorter and/or thinner hair.

Yesterday I needed a shower but I really didn’t want to go through the trouble with egg again, so once again I took to the internet with the hopes that I would find something useful. And I did! I learned all about oatmeal! Colloidal oatmeal is basically finely ground oats and while it’s usually used as a skin treatment, it’s also used as an ingredient in several different shampoos and conditioners. However, it was just that – an ingredient. So I searched for someone who had tried it on its own and found BrokeyMcPoverty, who did try it on its own -although just as a conditioner. The list of ingredients on The Road to 31 listed oatmeal as a great cleanser and so I tried it out as shampoo. I didn’t actually have colloidal oatmeal so I scooped some rolled oats into my Magic Bullet and ground them into a nice powdery consistency, then filled the cup the rest of the way with water and stirred it up. In retrospect, I used too much oatmeal. Although a lot of it mixed with the water, there were a few clumps that settled to the bottom and didn’t mix in no matter how much I stirred. Gross. Anyway, after I had mixed it the best I could, the water was tan in colour and felt silky. I always thought that people were lying when they talked about silky water but now I’ve experienced it for myself. There is such a thing. Go figure.

So I hopped into my [warm] shower and poured this stuff into my hair. It didn’t lather, obviously, but it massaged in really nicely. It was soothing. I rinsed it out with warm and then cold water but noticed there were still bits of oatmeal in my hair. So I rinsed for a really long time but they wouldn’t come out, so finally I got out of the shower, towel-dried my hair as normal, and combed my hair, first with a wide and then with a fine-toothed comb. It got a lot of the oatmeal bits out but by no means all of them. So I stepped back into the shower with my wide toothed comb and rinsed again, this time combing through as I went, and the oatmeal vanished. I don’t think I would have had this problem if I had used less oatmeal in the first place and I’ll probably keep a comb on hand for the next time I try it. Today my hair is soft and CLEAN – so clearly oatmeal is good for more than just conditioning. My scalp and roots don’t look or feel greasy. It’s kind of great. A lot of people report having really shiny hair when they use oatmeal but I don’t. My hair is just not shiny I guess. But overall I consider my oatmeal experiment a success and I’ll continue to use it for the time being! Next time I’m in a city I’ll look for actually colloidal oatmeal so I don’t need to make my own.

white face. soft hair.

white face. soft hair.

[currently listening: coldplay//now my feet won’t touch the ground]

2 responses to “still not using shampoo

  1. Pingback: what even are shampoo | nihilism is not practical.

  2. Pingback: I didn’t use shampoo for 4 months. | nihilism is not practical.

Leave a Reply

