something gross.

Belated New Year’s Resolution: I’m not going to shampoo my hair all summer.

How you probably read that: I’m not going to wash my hair all summer.

What I meant: I’m not going to shampoo my hair all summer.

Not because I’m turning into a crunchy hippie, but because I’m tired of spending a million dollars on shampoo every month. There’s a not-so-recent trend going around the internet called ‘no-poo’ and while I think that’s a ridiculous name, I think there’s merit in the argument against shampoo. I could regurgitate facts about how shampoo is harmful for hair and whatever but there are approximately 16 trillion blogs on the internet [mostly crunchy mom blogs, go figure] which can tell you these facts in a much more impassioned way than I could ever hope to so I’m going to leave that to them. Suffice it to say, I’m tired of having to wash my hair every day and I think this method will help alleviate that chore.

Instead of washing with shampoo then, starting yesterday I’m washing my hair with baking soda. Baking soda cleanses the scalp and hair without stripping either of their natural oils so somehow that makes your hair nicer. I don’t know. I’m not a scientist. Look it up somewhere else.

Just as baking soda takes the place of shampoo, apple cider vinegar takes the place of conditioner [something about bases and acids cancelling one another out. it works. i don’t know]. However, since I didn’t have ACV when I washed my hair yesterday, I just did the baking soda. Which is not supposed to happen. I am not supposed to do that. I broke the law of blogger moms everywhere, but it’s okay because I’m not technically in their ranks.

So results of yesterday’s foray into no shampoo:
I mixed 1 tbsp baking soda with a cup of water and stirred it until the baking soda was dissolved. I poured about half of that concoction into a clean travel-sized shampoo container I had on hand. In the shower, I poured it over my roots and massaged it in. It was a really dissatisfying experience because there was no lather involved and it pretty much felt like I was pouring more water onto my head. I think I expected that a tablespoon of baking soda would bring that cup of water to a more paste-like substance. Oh well. Anyway, I left it in my hair for like two minutes and then rinsed it out. I didn’t have ACV so I just did without conditioner altogether. I let my hair air dry and it after an hour or two, after it had dried, it wasn’t greasy at all – but it felt too dry. I’m pretty sure that’s because I didn’t use the vinegar rinse. Blogger moms would be ashamed.

This morning my hair was greasy again but apparently that’s to be expected in the two-four week ‘transition period’ when the scalp still secretes excess oil because it expects to be shampooed. So I just did the BS rinse again and didn’t do conditioner again. My hair feels a little bit like straw but at least it’s not greasy. I’m going to pick up the vinegar tomorrow evening so I’ll have to go one more day without it. Hopefully it will even things out a bit.

I’m going to plan to do this for the next four months as a trial run. If it works, great. I’ll do it forever. If not, I’ll just go back to shampoo. Apparently some people who use this method can get to a place where they can go five-six days between washes [still rinsing with warm water in between, however]. If I could get to that place that would be great. I have really thick hair and I wash my hair every day to keep it from looking greasy. I’d love to get that number up.

So yeah. That’s fun. I don’t want to turn into a blogger mom so I’ll probably do two more posts about this – one at the end of June [the halfway point] and the other at the end of August, after the four months is up. Soooo… I guess that’s it. Thanks for your time.

here’s a cutsie patootsie picture of my cutsie patootsie face my hair so you have an idea of how not-greasy it is. you may notice that it stands up in the front. that has nothing to do with grease and everything to do with cowlicks, i assure you.

cutsie patootsie

[currently listening: savoir adore//beating hearts]

4 responses to “something gross.

  1. Yay for no-poo! I’m a huge fan because it is soooo much cheaper. 4 months is a good trial period because the first few weeks aren’t that great, or at least they weren’t for me. (I’m not a mom btw, although I am kind of crunchy).

    Like

  2. Pingback: still not using shampoo | nihilism is not practical.

  3. Pingback: what even are shampoo | nihilism is not practical.

  4. Pingback: I didn’t use shampoo for 4 months. | nihilism is not practical.

Leave a Reply

