Day 39 – the final thrill, the quiet spill, the vile retreat

Day 39 – a Song You Want Played at Your Funeral

This is sort of an appropriate challenge for today in light of the last couple of weeks.

A friend of mine was killed in a freak accident a couple of weeks ago. I returned home for the funeral and even though it’s one of the most difficult things I’ve ever done, it was hard to be sad during the service. Everyone has stories about Bryce and a lot of them were shared. There was almost as much laughing during the service as there was crying. A couple of our classmates put together a slideshow of pictures and played music behind it. The songs they chose were perfect – Great Day to Be Alive and Drops of Jupiter. They were both songs that Bryce loved while he was alive and they seemed appropriate in his death.

It’s had me thinking over these last few weeks about what song or songs I would like played at my funeral. There are several songs that I like but is there one that sums up my life? Really? I don’t think that song exists. If it has, I don’t think I’ve found it yet.

There are two songs that I like. They could be played at my funeral. I would be okay with it.

Leave a Reply

