Day 35 – I’ve been living a lonely life

Day 35 – an Artist/Band You Can’t Understand People Loving

The Lumineers. I don’t get them.

They had that one decidedly average song that somehow got a ton of radio play and ever since then, they’ve become a favourite band of hipsters and LGs and preppies alike. And I just do not get it.

It’s not that they’re bad, they’re just not great. Their music isn’t terrible but it’s not terribly good. That one song – Ho Hey – is sort of a cheesy love song, with a refrain of “I belong with you, you belong with me, you’re my sweetheart.” As a sucker for cheesy love songs I find myself drawn to this simple chorus but at the same time I find myself driven away by their boring music and the rest of their lyrics which are not terribly profound and don’t even make sense in many aspects.

The musicians themselves are talented but that talent doesn’t have many chances to shine on their debut album. They have potential but it seems like for now they’re content with copying the acts that have come before them, most notably Mumford & Sons. Anyway. I don’t like them very much and I really don’t understand howthey’ve become so popular off of the one song of theirs that’s received significant radio play.

Here’s Ho Hey.

Leave a Reply

