Day 32 – sweet hymns of joy, in grateful chorus raise we

Day 32 – Your Favourite Christmas Carol

Many people rage against Christmas music, but I am not one of them. Although I hold to the belief that Christmas music should not be played on the radio until after American Thanksgiving, I do love Christmas carols and I listen to them all year round.

It’s important to note that carols are different from songs. I could go my entire life without hearing another note of All I Want For Christmas is You or Last Christmas. A song is a piece of music that is meant to be sung for whatever purpose the lyrics lay out. A carol, however, is a song specifically sung in praise or celebration of something or someone – in this case, Jesus Christ. Therefore, pieces such as Jingle Bells and Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (which were incidentally voted two of the most annoying Christmas songs at a party I was at this weekend) are not Christmas carols, they are Christmas songs. Silent Night and Away in a Manger, however, are indeed carols.

My favourite Christmas carol is O Holy Night, hands down. I love the notes that climb all over the range of human voices, and many times exceed that range, in which case it’s a terribly painful song to listen to, but when done correctly it is the most beautiful thing imaginable. Future of Forestry has done a phenomenal job on the three Christmas EPs they’ve released to date, and my favourite rendition of my favourite Christmas carol was released on their first.

Leave a Reply

