Day 6 – you should have said “Nice to meet you, I’m your other half!”

Day 6 – A Song You Would Like To Play at Your Wedding

Girls are typically wedding-minded. Not necessarily in the hunt for a man or even in the desire for a marriage, but they plan out their wedding to the very last detail – what the colours will be, how many people will be there, the decorations, the dress, the hair, the lighting, the candles the rings the flower girl the backdrop the reception the dance music – everything is planned out so that when they do finally get engaged, their hearts are crushed as they realize they can’t have their dream wedding.

I have never been like that. I’ve never been one to plan out an event that may not even happen. I don’t care what my dress will look like or how perfectly my hair will be done or what the reception will be like. The only thing that I think about at all when I imagine my hypothetical wedding day is the man who will be standing across from me – my best friend.

I don’t know who he is. I don’t know if I’ve met him yet or if I’ve known him for years. Maybe he’s sitting in my freshmen classroom right now or maybe he’s on another continent. Maybe he’s the guy I’ve had a crush on for a while or maybe I’ve never given him a second thought. I know literally nothing about him right now, but I do know this:

He will be my best friend. He’s not yet. Well, maybe he is. I don’t know. I do know, though, that as I go through the process of dating him and falling in love and getting engaged that I’ll love him for so many reasons – because he’s sweet and kind and supports me and encourages me and LOVES me and wants to be with me for the rest of his life. I know that I won’t be able to imagine marrying anyone else and the idea that at one point in my life I didn’t know him or that I disregarded his friendship will absolutely confound me.

There’s a song that sums all of this up in the simplest way – a song I would love to have played at my wedding.

Leave a Reply

