Day 3 – Picasso don’t premeditate, he just paints!

Obviously these posts haven’t been quite right on time but I think that’s the way it’s going to be. I’m not going to worry about churning out a new song every day, but I will try to post at least three times a week. We’ll see how that goes.

Day 3 – A Song That Makes You Smile

There are a lot of songs that make me smile. Mostly beautiful love songs, or songs that start quiet and build to a final grand flourish at the end. I guess I smile at songs that are well written and well executed. I smile at almost everything by Paper Route and most things by Death Cab For Cutie. Owl City can make me smile but only on occasions when I’m happy to begin with. I think the one band that makes me smile most consistently, however, is Cold War Kids.

In particular I am in love with their latest album Mine Is Yours. Every song on the album is a masterpiece but my absolute favorite comes close to the end. At first I thought Broken Open was about a breakup and the anger Nathan felt at being so exposed, but open examining the lyrics more closely and hearing the joy in his voice as he sings I realized that it was exactly the opposite.

He’s singing instead about the incredible joy he feels at having realized his closest friend is in fact his soulmate.

“All my edges are exposed
I was once content alone
Now you are the one that I call home
I’ve been broken open.”

He’s ecstatic to have his soul bared to the woman he loves and he’s singing about how fantastic it is to not have anything to hide, for this woman to be such an intimate viewer of his thoughts.

Leave a Reply

